South and east of the River St. Lawrence, the St. Lawrence Lowlands are bordered by extensions and outliers of the Appalachian Mountains. The Appalachian System, in fact, extends through the Maritime Provinces and the Gaspe Peninsula of Quebec. The whole area may be regarded as a peninsula jutting out with bold and broken coast line to separate the Gulf of St. Lawrence from the Atlantic. Peaks in this area, notably the Notre Dame and the Shickshock Mountains, reach elevations up to 4,000 ft.

Subsection 4.-Islands

The islands of Canada are among its most remarkable geographic features. They include the very large group lying in the Arctic Ocean, the fringe of both large and small islands off the Pacific Coast, those of the Maritime Provinces and Quebec in the Atlantic Ocean and the Gulf of St. Lawrence, together with the islands of the Great Lakes and other inland waters. The Pacific Coast islands, with the exception of Vancouver Island and the Queen Charlotte group, are small and dot the coast of British Columbia from Dixon Entrance to the southern boundary of the Province. Vancouver Island is 285 miles long and from 40 to 80 miles broad, covering an area of about 12,408 square miles; the mountain range which forms its backbone rises again to form the Queen Charlotte Islands farther north. These islands figure largely in the mining, lumbering and fishing industries of the West and, together with the bold and deeply indented coast line, provide a region for scenic cruises rivalling those of Norway.

On the eastern coast of the Dominion are the island province of Prince Edward Island, the Islands of Cape Breton (an integral part of Nova Scotia), Anticosti, and the Magdalen group (included in the Province of Quebec), and the Islands of Grand Manan and Campobello (part of the Province of New Brunswick) in the Bay of Fundy. Prince Edward Island is 2,184 square miles in area, Cape Breton 3,970 and Anticosti about the same. Fishing activities in these eastern islands are important, while agriculture on Prince Edward Island and mining on Cape Breton are the chief occupations of the inhabitants.

Manitoulin Island and the Georgian Bay islands in Lake Huron and the Thousand Islands group in the St. Lawrence River, at its outlet from Lake Ontario, are the more important islands of the inland waters.

Section 2.—Political Geography

Politically, Canada is divided into nine Provinces and two Territories. From east to west these are: the Maritime Provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick; Quebec; Ontario; the Prairie Provinces of Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta; and the most westerly province, British Columbia. North of the area included in the provinces the country is divided into the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories. The political characteristics and the resources of each of these areas are reviewed at pp. 23-27 of the 1946 Year Book. Each of the provinces is sovereign in its own sphere, as set out in the British North America Act (see pp. 40-60 of the 1942 Year Book) and, as new provinces have been organized from the Dominion lands of the Northwest, they have been granted political status equivalent to that of the original provinces. Yukon and the Northwest Territories with their boundaries of to-day are administered by the Dominion Government.